FINAL APPROVED

ADVISORY BOARD ON OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY Minutes January 30, 2018

The Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy met on Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, Virginia.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kathryn Skibek, OT, Chair

Breshae Bedward, OT, Vice Chair

Raziuddin Ali, M.D. Dwayne Pitre, OT Karen Lebo, JD

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

Alan Heaberlin, Deputy Director, Licensure Elaine Yeatts, DHP Senior Regulatory Analyst

ShaRon Clanton, Licensing Specialist

Colanthia Morton Opher, Operations Manager

GUESTS PRESENT: None

CALL TO ORDER

Kathryn Skibek called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES

Mr. Heaberlin announced the Emergency Egress Instructions.

ROLL CALL

Roll was called, and a quorum declared.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF October 3, 2017

1-3

Karen Lebo moved to adopt the minutes as written. The motion was seconded and carried.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Breshae Bedward moved to adopt the amended agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

None

NEW BUSINESS

1. Legislative Update-Elaine Yeatts

Mrs. Yeatts gave a brief description of the 8 bills submitted by DHP and others that were of interest to the Advisory Board.

2. Review of Draft Guidance Document for Supervisory Responsibilities

Mr. Heaberlin described the purpose of guidance documents. Breshae Bedward moved to submit the proposed guidance document on supervision by OT's to the Full Board for approval on February 15, 2018. The motion was seconded and carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Mr. Heaberlin informed the Advisory Board that there are currently 4,152 Occupational Therapists and 1,587 Occupational Therapy Assistants who hold licenses with the Virginia Board of Medicine. The members were advised of the new mileage rates and the \$50.00 per diem for attendance at meetings, if not a state employee.

NEXT MEETING DATE

January 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting of the Advisory Board was adjourned at 11:04 a.m.	
Kathryn Skibek, OT, Chair	William L. Harp, M.D. Executive Director
ShaRon Clanton, Licensing Specialist	